The concert is titled 'Strictly Airs and Dances'.

The Programme will be   as follows:-

Movement 4 - Bergamasca from Suite No. 2 by Respighi

Airs de Danse et Chanson by Delibes

Fantasia para un Gentilhombre by Rodrigo – guitar soloist Michael Matthews

Symphony No. 1 by Bizet

The conductor will be Susan Grant and the orchestra will be lead by Martin Priestley.

Michael Matthews is a flamboyant and expressive guitarist who brings a new identity to the traditional repertoire.

He has studied with the distinguished and unorthodox teacher and performer, Rob Johns. Michael achieved a distinction in performance in his first class honours degree in 2016.

In 2018 he was chosen by the Tillett Trust to give recitals across the UK for the 2018/9 season.

The Grimsby Symphony Orchestra is delighted to welcome him as soloist in ‘Fantasia para un Gentilhombre’ by Rodrigo. This piece featured in his solo recital at  St James’s Church Picadilly and his debut appearance at the Wigmnore Hall.

Tickets are available from the box office - telephone 01472 355025 Front circle £12, Back Circle £10. Students half price.


Event Properties

Event Date 18-05-2019 7:30 pm
Event End Date 18-05-2019 9:30 pm
Capacity Unlimited
Cut off date 18-05-2019 8:00 pm
Prices From £10.00
Location Main Hall
Share this event: